Put Some Respek On Your Name

Remembering the Forgotten Organizations that Fought for Black Power

“What you believe in matters more than what you’re experiencing” – Idil Ahmed, author of Manifest Now

Sometime last spring I bought my wife a book called Manifest Now by Idil Ahmed. I bought it under the pretense of being a dope husband who got his Wife a book she could use as a tool to further her gains. Pretty straight forward stuff. I also knew in the back of my head that my Wife didn’t need any help in the manifestation department. As a matter of fact, I’m 100% positive that she could have written this book herself. I was the one on a hunt for tools. I was out here looking for things to utilize in my own journey through manifestation. In hindsight it was kind of selfish of me. I bought the fucking book for myself. It’s in my bag 90% of the time and it seems to spend more time on my nightstand than it does anywhere else in the house.

Now, we don’t do a lot of apologizing in our home. We favor changed behavior. So in keeping with the spirit of traditions I haven’t bought any more books for myself under the guise of gift giving for my Wife.

I just buy books for the house.

Manifest Now is a wellness book in nature but serves more as a compilation of dope ass lines. I like hot lines. They’re easy to remember and pack a heavy punch. Almost every successful person I know or know of has a personal compilation of hot lines they live by.

Mantras.

The author, a Somali woman, Idil Ahmed is definitely onto something with her take on manifestation. Also her take on affirming and the power of positive thoughts landed with me in a real way. Early on in her book she said that line I opened this piece with “ what you believe in matters more than what you’re experiencing”.

Do you know how profound that shit is?

I let it simmer, muster and sit with me for weeks. All I could think about was how right she is. Your core values are the most important things you possess. Your codes. Your beliefs. The stuff that is written in stone. Also, my understanding of manifestation is that it is impossible if you have doubt in yourself. You can’t manifest at max levels if you don’t even believe in your thoughts. I flashback to why I used to doubt myself so much. I used to doubt myself in a way I just didn’t understand. When I stood in front of the mirror and told myself I am the shit, I am the man, and I am capable of anything I put my mind to, I didn’t believe it. A voice in my head would scream BULLSHIT! You haven’t done anything all week to put towards your future, you aren’t taking care of your health, you a liar!!

I was living a lifestyle that went against my core values and it made me a walking contradiction.

Not in the healthy normal human way that we are all a bit contradictory. No, in the every thing I was doing went against what I truly believed in kind of contradiction. My conscious kept calling me out.

I doubted myself because I knew myself to be a self-liar.

This manifestation thing works, these affirmations work and these positive thoughts are truly as powerful as they say. This journey to bettering oneself exists, its real.

Under one condition.

You have to have respect for yourself. You can’t lie to yourself and then expect to start being better or living better. That’s how I recognized it. That I had conditioned myself to live a lifestyle that went against my core values.

Subconsciously I lost respect for myself.

The more I did it, the less I ended up respecting myself. Birthing doubt. Doubt that can’t be erased unless you start putting in the work. Re-aligning yourself with what you believe in is the most important thing and what your going through doesn’t matter. Its irrelevant. Do what you believe in and you won’t have the weight of that circumstance on you.

My inner voice that serves as a gatekeeper for manifestation didn’t believe in me!

Being someone you respect is the only way you can truly manifest your affirmations through positive thoughts and hard work. You wanna know why? It’s because you are not someone you doubt, you are someone who is truthful in their actions and that inner voice fucking believes you. It has the proof of your actions to go by. They align with your core values.

*click click* The door to manifestation is now open to you.

So, this stress and this weight of doubt you are currently experiencing is irrelevant because if you actually do what you believe in, they will disappear.

That’s what I took from that line in the book. It was a rabbit hole of realizations but fuck was it worth it. I re-aligned myself with my beliefs and values (actually I was already in the process of doing this, reading that passage just reaffirmed that I was on the right track). I don’t live with any kind of shame or disappointment. I believe in myself and my inner voice believes me when I say it. I am somebody I respect. When I stand in front of the mirror and say that I am the shit, I am the man and that I am capable of doing anything, my inner voice says you fucking right!

Ok Bye,

 

Leave a comment